DP Gachagua Calls For Heightened Artificial Intelligence To Shun Insecurity

ByNasha Kagua
Published on: Jan 28, 2024 05:01
A photo of DP Rigathi Gachagua. Photo| Courtesy

Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua has called for the incorporation of artificial intelligence and various technological advancements to bolster security in the Eastern Africa region.

DP Gachagua commended Kenya's National Intelligence Service (NIS), expressing the Government's unwavering trust in the efforts of NIS detectives.

The Deputy President assured backing for the security service, affirming that the Government is committed to providing necessary resources to facilitate the seamless execution of NIS duties.

Speaking at the Mashariki Cooperation Conference in Mombasa, where top security and National Intelligence Service chiefs from over 10 states in the Eastern African Region gathered, Gachagua emphasized the pivotal role of technology in effectively tackling insecurity.

“While more resources are required in integration of Artificial Intelligence into security operations, we have no option but to invest for better outcomes. With advancing technology, we must be armed with highly innovative infrastructure for tracing, tracking and monitoring potential threats for early elimination and prevention,” the Deputy President said.

Mr Gachagua emphasized that armed conflicts, trafficking in humans especially children, drugs, counterfeit goods, corruption and money laundering, and wildlife trophies, pose a threat to development.

Adding that security is crucial to the development and Africa is to socio-economically transform as envisaged under Agenda 2063 of the African Union and the Sustainable Development Goals of the United Nations.

“Africa is, without a doubt, the Continent of the 21st Century.  But insecurity, if not strategically and decisively tackled, may derail the vision of transforming the lives of our people. I cannot emphasize more, why Security is key to a better, brighter and successful Africa,” he said.

States represented in the conference include Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ethiopia, South Sudan, Somalia, Seychelles, Comoros, Mozambique, Eritrea and Malawi.


Leave a Comment..


No comments yet...